Water Protection and

Waste Management Awards

At its 2018 conference, NTWWA introduced two new awards to recognize the efforts of NWT and NU communities to protect the environment and water bodies around their communities.

Waste Management Awards are given to communities which are in their earlier years of monitoring their waste management systems, which includes developing standards and guidelines, improving municipal water licence compliance, monitoring activities and results and reporting these to the appropriate land and water boards annually.

The 2018 recipients of Waste Management Awards were:

  • Hamlet of Ulukhaktok (NWT)
  • Hamlet of Kimmirut (NU)
  • Community Government of Gameti (NWT)
  • Hamlet of Arctic Bay (NU)
  • Hamlet of Enterprise (NWT)
  • Hamlet of Kugaaruk, (NU)
  • Town of Norman Wells (NWT)

Water Protection Awards reflect how well communities have done in the past year with their  waste management and recognize the number of years monitoring activities listed in their water licences were submitted to their  land and water boards. There is one Water Protection Award for each territory.

The 2018 recipients of Water Protection Awards were:

  • Hamlet of Baker Lake (NU)
  • Hamlet of Fort Providence (NWT)

Congratulations to all 2018 recipients!